Characters: Introduction

by D. C. Haddock

Your Extraordinary Mind, Andre Jordan

Hello, invisible audience and readers! I am proud to announce my newest venture in the science of enculturation, and the art of writing. I will be attempting to understand the age-old conundrum that many before me have described as the “human experience,” an elusive, vague depiction of what it is to be a part of the only species known thus far to possess the capacity to think logically and feel illogically, to recede entirely into the depths of our infinite imaginations, and to be able to perceive the universe in entirely different ways. I realize that there are and have been many other much more qualified attempt-ees before my time, and there will be many more after my time. Unlike the Psychologists, Biologists, and Anthropologists among us, (whom I have nothing but respect and adoration towards) I will not provide a detailed theory or hypothesis, or a book full of statistics and data; I will not give exact measurements, and there is no degree hanging on my wall; my attempt may have no scientific relevance whatsoever, and I am okay with that. But that doesn’t mean there isn’t something to gain (there ALWAYS is). This in itself seems like a vague and hefty task, I know; but think of it as a letter from one student-of-life to another, and let me tell you exactly how I plan to bring to you, with one click of a button, a portrait of humanity (or at least, your community).

I plan to display, right here on this blog and as frequently as I possibly can, a miniseries of sorts, of which I am calling “Characters”. I will attempt to seek out one person who intrigues me during the course of my routines, whether by actions or appearance or any other number of factors. I may know nothing about this person, or I may be very familiar with them. There is no limit on age, race, gender, class, occupation, relationship to myself, whatever; to me, you are all fair game. There will be no intentional slandering or glorification; only hopeful objectivity, even though that is damn near impossible to attain. You might also be wondering, “How would you know enough about a stranger to write an entire essay on them?” and you would be absolutely correct in that I have precisely no way to extract every detail in the life of that person without violating their privacy; so this is where something called “creative liberty” and inference come into play. My aim is not to lie to you, but Literary Non-fiction is what I do best. So if you see some girl staring at you and scribbling in a notebook from across the room, or park, or street, you’re allowed to be a little creeped out, but please don’t run away. A little smile would be nice, too.

I am so nervous to start. But, a great music teacher once told me, “That is good. It means you care.”

